Energy Minister, Napo,Others To Be Honoured By UCC


ENERGY MINISTER, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh’s name has virtually become synonymous with winning prestigious and enviable awards.

Nicknamed as ‘Napo’, the popular, visionary and hard working minister is set to be honoured by the University of Cape Coast (UCC) on Saturday, July 29, 2023.

Napo, who is also the Member of Parliament (MP) for Manhyia South Constituency in Kumasi, would be awarded a Honorary Doctorate Degree by the UCC.

The award would be presented to the Energy Minister and other selected distinguished personalities in the country at the UCC campus on Saturday, July 29, 2023.

Significantly, Napo has played important roles to help acclerate the proper and effective development of the country. No wonder he has been a recipient of many awards.

His positive contributions to the transformation of the country has especially been felt in both the Energy and Education Ministries during the last six years.

For instance, during his tenure as the Education Minister, Napo worked assiduously to introduce the NPP government’s flagship policy, the free Senior High School (SHS).

Napo, who is noted for his hard work, has also written his name in the letters of gold at the Energy Ministry as he has worked to ensure a vibrant ministry so far.

Napo’s extraordinary works in the NPP government has earned him similar Honorary Doctorate Degrees from other top universities in the country in recent times.

For instance, in May 2021, the University of Education, Winneba, honoured Napo with a Honorary Doctorate Degree in recognition of his exemplary works.

Just two months later, July 2021, the University of Professional Studies (UPS), in Accra, also followed suit by awarding Napo with a Honorary Doctorate Degree.

On Saturday, July 29, 2023, the UCC would be honouring Napo and other distinguished people such as Dr. K.K. Sarpong and Ehunabobrim Prah Agyensaim VI during a Special Congregation.

The other personalities to be honoured by the UCC are Prof. Harold Stwart Amonoo-Koufi, Dr. Deborah Rose, Dr. Yaw Adu-Agyei Gyamfi and Prof. Daniel A. Wubah.

BY I.F. Joe Awuah Jnr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.