Mireku Duker Gifts US$14,500 Worth Of Vehicle To Best Teacher In His Area



On Saturday, June 3, 2023, I held the second edition of the Duker Teachers’ Awards, meant to celebrate, honor and motivate extraordinary teachers in the Tarkwa-Nsuaem Municipality at the UMaT Auditorium amidst a Durbar of Chiefs, Teachers, Students and very significant dignitaries.

This year’s ceremony themed “Education, Our Future, Our Pride” was to draw attention of all, how education has helped propelled the world through Teachers at the forefront.

I used the opportunity to outline the various educational infrastructure projects and initiatives I have delivered since becoming the Member of Parliament.

Education as my top-notch priority, I have always maintained that, teachers are minimally motivated irrespective of the strenuous task they go through, hence, the need to consciously recognize their efforts towards enriching education in the Municipality.

Chairman of the Occasion, Dr. Stephen Saforo Yirenkyi, in his speech applauded my office once again for the initiative.

In all Nineteen (19) Teachers were recognized and awarded from Six(6) categories.

The 2023 Winners of the Awards are as follows:

*#Non-Teaching Staff Category*

1. Joseph Cudjoe, Tarkwa SHS (Best Teacher).

2. Salifu Mohammed, Municipal Education Office (1st Runner Up).

3. Victor A. Mensah, Municipal Education Office (2nd Runner Up).

*#KG Category*

1. Mercy Odoom, Nana Boadii M/A Basic (Best Teacher).

2. Freda E. Banda, Tarkwa Islamic Basic (1st Runner Up).

3. Priscilla Appiah, Jerusalem M/A Basic (2nd Runner Up).

*#Primary Category*

1.Abintu Jibong, Ningo M/A Basic (Best Teacher).

2. Samuel Agyapong, Esuoso Catholic Basic (1st Runner Up).

3. Priscilla Appiah, Jerusalem M/A Basic (2nd Runner Up).

*#JHS Category*

1.Alex E. Quansah, Nuakokrom M/A Basic (Best Teacher).

2. Joana Mady (1st Runner Up).

3. Jonathan K. Botsi (2nd Runner Up).

*#SHS Category*

1. Perpetual Bosomprah (Best Teacher).

2. Jeff Gbate, Fiaseman SHS (1st Runner Up).

3. Belinda K. Shika, Comm. Devt. Voc. Tech. (2nd Runner Up).


1.Grace Acquah, Agona Methodist
( Best Headteacher).

2. Joseph Amihere, Esuoso Catholic
(1st Runner Up.)

3. Benjamin Boateng
(2nd Runner Up).


Edna Amihere, Tarkwa SHS.

The award items include:

1. A TV set each for all 2nd runner up positions across all levels;

2. A double-door refrigerator (with an inbuilt water dispenser) each for all 1st runner up positions across all categories; and

3. A deep freezer for all winners across all categories.

The overall best teacher went home with a 2022 model of Suzuki Swift worth $14,500.00.

I further donated two (2) laptops to the Awards Committee and a television set and Chest Freezer to the Tarkwa Midwifery School.

The Overall Best Teacher, Madam Edna Amihere, who teaches at Tarkwa Senior High School expressed his profound gratitude towards Hon. George Mireku Duker for recognizing the efforts of Teachers in the Municipality.

It was a remarkable occasion, as students, teachers and family members jubilated alike for such grand recognition of the efforts of their teachers/loved ones.

Furthermore, I have instituted a similar award scheme to honor outstanding health professionals in my Constituency. The first edition will be held soon.

Also, I launched the Wassa Fiase Students Union (WaFSU) which will seek to foster relations among Fiase students in Ghana and elsewhere and connect them with opportunities.

I humbly thank Hon. Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah, Western Regional Minister, Tetrete Okuamoah Sekyim II, Omanhene of Wassa Amenfi Traditional Area, Ohyeawora Bian Nyonwa Panyin IV, Dompim Pepesa Chief, Gwira Banso Chiefs, Prof. Richard Amankwah, UMaT Vice Chancellor, Dr. Stephen Saforo Yirenkyi, UMaT Council Chair, Mr. Seidu Jaja, Deputy MDF Administrator, Hon. Alexander Agyare, MP for Kade, Madam Angela List, Nguvu CEO, Western Regional NPP Executives led by Hon. Francis Ndede Siah, Dr. Lewis Brew, Snr. Lecturer, UMaT, Heads of the various second cycle institutions and all students for making time for this important program.

I also seize the opportunity to thank all our sponsors, Nguvu Mining Limited who sponsored the Vehicle, Ghana Manganese Company, XCMG Ghana, Transeco Minerals, Commodity Monitor and the various individuals. We are grateful for your support.

Special thanks to my brother, Omanhene Kwabena Asante who moderated this year’s edition.

Together, we shall uplift the image of Education in the Municipality.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.