General News Politics

NPP commends MPs for approval of nominees


The governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) has congratulated its Members of Parliament (MPs) for ensuring that President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s ministerial and Supreme Court nominees were passed.

The party also expressed the nation’s gratitude to the National Democratic Congress (NDC) MPs who also defied their party’s position to reject the nominees to vote in the national interest.

“Kudos to our gallant MPs for standing firmly behind the government and ensuring that the President’s nominees for Ministers of State and Deputy Minister, as well as for the Supreme Court were approved! The nation is also grateful to the brave NDC MPs who stood for #GhanaFirst,” the NPP posted on their official Twitter handle.

Parliament last Friday, March 24 approved all six ministerial nominees of President Akufo-Addo after a heated debate and a tense voting process.

Final results declared by the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin showed that all six nominees got more votes than the minimum of 138 votes required because out of the 275 eligible voters, three were absent. The NPP thus had 136 MPs, same as the NDC.

After the ministerial vote, Parliament also voted on the report of two remaining Supreme Court justice nominees appointed by President Akufo-Addo. The Minority had stated their position to reject the nominees in this case too.

At the end of a vote demanded by the Minority, both nominees were approved by a slight majority.

George Kingsley Koomson, Justice of the Court of Appeal got 139 YES votes against 133 NO votes, while Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu, Justice of the High Court got 138 YES and 134 NO votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.