NDC Appoints Dr Samuel Sarpong As National Vice Chairman



The Functional National Executive Committee (NEC) of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has approved the appointment of Dr Samuel Sarpong, former Kumasi Mayor and former Ashanti and Central Regional Minister in the erstwhile John Evans Atta Mills and John Dramani Mahama led administration.

A statement issued by Mr Fifi Fiavi Kwetey, the General Secretary of the NDC, copied to The Punch Newspaper said the former Vice Chancellor of the University of Professional Studies (UPSA), Professor Joshua Alabi, former Ashanti Regional Minister, Dr Samuel Sarpong and Abdul Rauf Khalid have all been appointed as Vice Chairmen of the Party.

Dr Samuel Sarpong who was given the unmatched politician honorary award by Pan African Heroes Foundation in 2020 was given the position based on his immensely contribution towards the development of the great National Democratic Congress.

As a unifier,his works as the former regional minister, former Kumasi Mayor and former MD,State Housing Company limited led to the progress of the NDC and Ghana at large.

Other appointees included the following;

Mr Alex Kyereme is the National Treasurer, whereas Mr Thomas Ayisi Kumah is his Deputy.

The NEC appointments include Ambassador Molly Anim-Addo, Madam Margaret Ansel, Mr George Kwesi Binbi, Mr Godfred Apasina Wumbei, Alhaji Yahaya Kundo, and Mr Ransford Chatman Vanni-Amoah.

The statement said the party’s leadership at the same meeting approved the creation of four new directorates to enhance the party’s administrative efficiency.

The four new directorates include Conflict Resolution, Logistics/Protocol, Inter Party/ Civil Society Organisations (CSOs) Relations and Welfare.

The appointments to various directorship portfolios of the party include Mr Emmanuel Zumakpeh, Director of Administration; Mr Alex Segbefia, Director International Relations; Dr Karl Mark Arhine and Maame Efua Sekyi-Aidoo as Deputy Directors for International Relations.

Mr Kakra Essamuah remains the Director of Communications, with Madam Obuobia Darko-Opoku as his Deputy.

The statement said former Minister of Communications, Dr Edward Omane Boamah is the NDC’s Director of Elections/Information Technology (IT).

Mr Mahdi Gibril and Dr Rashid Tanko Conputer are the Deputy Directors for Elections.

It named Dr George Atta Boateng and Mr Wisdom Yayra Deku as the Deputy Directors for IT.

Mr Godwin Kudzo Tameklo is the Legal Director of the NDC, whereas his two Deputies are Mr Baba Jamal and Mr George Loh.

Professor Francis Dodoo is the Director of Research, while his two Deputies are Mr Prosper Hoetu and Prof. John Bright Aheto.

The Director for Special Duties is Mr Vincent Kwagbenu, while his three Deputies are Mr Cesar Karle, Brogya Genfi and Mr Mohammed Atta Natogmah.

Mr Abraham Amaliba has been appointed as the Party’s Director of Conflict Resolution, with former director of elections of the NDC, Mr Daniel Amartey as his Deputy.

Dr Peter Boamah Otokunor a former deputy general secretary is the Director of Interparty/CSOs Relations, while Ms Mary Awusi is his Deputy.

Ms Vida Addai becomes the NDC’s Director for Welfare, with Mr William Tamudzi as her Deputy.

Mr Ludwig Hlordze is the Party’s Director for Logistics/Protocol, and his two Deputies are Mr Mohammed Kwaku Doku and Madam Amanda Okyere.

Source: Ayisah Foster

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.