TaTU: Dagbon Student’s Association initiates Awards Scheme to Improve Academic Excellence



A maiden Excellence Awards aimed to motivate Students in their area of study and improve teaching and learning has been organised at the Tamale Technical University by leadership of the Dagbon Student’s Association.

The scheme, DASA Excellence Awards/Miss DASA is initiated to award and honor Students who are performing academically and promote Ghanaian culture on campus.

Addressing the media at the awards night, Naa Nurudeen Ibrahim who is the DASA Chief of the Tamale Technical University said motivation is key in youth development, hence the awards schame.

He believed that Students of the University would put their best and challenge themselves much better if their efforts are recognize.

According to him, the schame would go a long way to inculcate discipline in the students and curb the issue of bad usage of tramadol.

He further appealed to individuals and cooperate bodies to support the initiative to continue in the coming years.

Special Guest for the occasion, Hajia Abiba Sagito, the Executive Director of SWIDA-Ghana advised Ghanaian Students to trade carefully and not allow themselves to be influence by anyone.

She urged the gathering especially Students to have good relation with each other whilst in school, because they might need need each other in future.

Hajia Abiba further advised the gathering to be time cautious and always attend to programs 30 minutes before the program.

Meanwhile, Yussif Jalila was adjudged Miss DASA for the year 2023-2024, she received a television set, citation, books and other souvenirs.

The second runner-up received a standing fan, citation, educational materials and other souvenirs.

The Best overall Students received a television set, citation and educational materials.

Below are the rest of the winners for the various categories

1) Cultural Dancer (Abubakari Fatima)
2) Fashion Designer (Abdul Majeed Abdul Razak)
3) Dancer of the year (Ibrahim Ishmail Suhuyini)
4) Overall Intermediate Student of the year (Alhassan Ibrahim)
5) Outstanding Student of the year (Alhassan Fuseini Nantogmah)
6) Engineering student of the year (Abass Abdul-Halik)
7) Most Vibrant DASA Member (Alhassan Zulka Naporo)
8) Sports Personality (Haruna Mohammed Shamsudeen)
9) Entrepreneur of the year (Abdul Wahid)
10) Overall Male Student (Safianu Tawfiq Maltiti)
11) Overall Female Student (Mashud Azizatu)
12) Fashionable Student of the year (Haruna Ayisha)
13) People’s Choice Award (Highest Votes) – Abass Abdul-Halik

Miss Jalila Yussif was adjudged Miss DASA for the year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.