NPP primaries: Addai-Nimoh, Boakye Agyarko insisting on run-off – Stephen Ntim



The National Chairman of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP), Stephen Ntim, has disclosed that the two presidential candidate aspirants who tied in the Super Delegates Conference are insisting on going for a run-off.

According to him, Boakye Agyarko and Francis Addai-Nimoh are prepared for a second contest on Saturday, September

Mr Ntim, however, said the party is impressing upon them to have a consensus so one of them can be allowed to contest the November 4, elections.

“Understanding will prevail eventually for the party to move on. For the two aspirants with a tie, it is just a matter of prevailing on them if one could give in to the other, but it looks like they are all prepared to go in with full haul, so we are getting ready to meet tomorrow, [today, Wednesday, August 30].

“NEC will meet followed by National Council, we are trying to find a solution or finality to the dialogue that we are having,” he stated.

About Super Delegates Conference

Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, came first in the New Patriotic Party’s Super Delegates Congress.

The Super Delegates Congress was organised to elect five presidential aspirants to contest the party’s primaries in November this year.


This was after 10 candidates picked up forms to contest the main presidential primaries scheduled for November 4.

After the collation of 16 out of the 17 polling centres across the country, the Vice President came out on top with 67.10% of the total votes cast, followed by the MP for Assin Central, Kennedy Agyapong who garnered 14.15% of the total votes cast.

Former Trades Minister, Alan Kyerematen came third with 10.85% of the total votes cast, and former Agric Minister, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto came fourth with 4.01%.

There is however a tie as Francis Addai Nimoh and former Energy Minister, Boakye Agyarko, both got 1.06 per cent of the total votes cast.

So, per the guidelines for the elections, the two are to face off again for one person to join the four who qualified for the November 4 elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.